University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown
Pitt-Johnstown Seal

Department History

The Communication Department was officially founded at the University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown during the 1973-1974 academic year. At this time, it included faculty from both Communication and theatre. The Communication and Theatre disciplines separated into two distinct majors in 1996. A year later, Lambda Pi Eta, a chapter of the National Communication Honor Society, was established. The Communication Department has maintained about five full-time faculty, and several adjunct instructors. The faculty and instructors serve about 160 Communication majors, in addition to teaching campus general education requirements. About fifty of majors complete internships each year.
Last Reviewed: May 7, 2008